Caramello Balls


Ah, the classic classy brandy ball. Yum! Although I have quite the soft spot for these, lately I have come across a ball of another kind. The one and only caramello balls! I thought I should credit slash ask my friend before blogging about this recipe. So I did, yesterday, only to find…she pinched it from the fabulous Griffin’s :-)……turns out they have quite a few different recipes and each one illustrated with the type of biscuit featured in the recipe. Nice.

So here is a treat for the weekend! By the time you read this, RWC fever should be well underway in the capital. I, thankfully, have escaped to the Manawatu for the weekend.

Thank you to my friend Steph for this recipe!

Caramello Balls

  • 100g butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 a tin of sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 teaspoons cocoa
  • 1 1/2 cups finely crushed biscuits
  • 1 block caramello chocolate
  • Coconut to roll balls in

Heat a large saucepan on a medium heat. Melt the butter, brown sugar, condensed milk, cocoa and vanilla essence. When this has melted, add the crushed biscuits and leave to cool. I left my mixture for about 15 minutes or so. When cooled, wet your fingers and roll a full teaspoon of mixture around a square of caramello chocolate. Roll the balls in coconut. I think you could use any kind of chocolate in the middle, particularly types with a runny centre. I am yet to try with my favourite chocolate of all time: Whittaker’s Ghana Peppermint. I will be sure to update this post when I do!

Leave a Reply

