Russian Fudge


I have always had a soft spot for Russian fudge. There is something about this smooth caramel-coloured toffee bagged in cellophane and tied with string that conjures up memories of market days, school galas or the local A&P show. You have probably worked out by now, I am very nostalgic.

It seems, in New Zealand at least, people can’t really get enough of this sweet and usually people have their secret ‘best-ever’ recipe hidden away. I have never made Russian fudge until now because as I mentioned in a previous post about fudge..quite frankly, I lack the patience. I now believe my childhood fudge failures were usually caused by not boiling the mixture for long enough so it didn’t to set. It is safe to say, I wasn’t the chief-fudge-maker in our household..

An old flatmate of mine used to love the stuff and seemed to think the Edmond’s Russian Fudge was better than the rest. It did taste pretty good to me too, but doesn’t everything when you don’t have to make it?!

Yes, fudge is delicious to indulge upon (occasionally!) but it also makes for a great gift. People really enjoy something homemade now and then and especially from one’s kitchen.

This recipe comes from Chelsea and is rich, creamy and deliciously indulgent. It seriously melts in your mouth. On discovering the perfect recipe for Russian fudge, I came across this! Has anyone had the chance to try it? Looks pretty remarkable to me!

Russian Fudge

  • 3 1/2 cups of sugar
  • 125 grams of butter
  • 3 Tbsp golden syrup
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 200 gram can sweetened condensed milk (half a standard tin)
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence

Place all the ingredients except the vanilla, into a medium-heavy saucepan. Warm over a gentle heat until the sugar has dissolved. Bring to a gentle boil and cook for about 15-20 minutes, until it reaches the soft ball stage (120°C).

Remove from the heat and add the vanilla. Beat (I use an electric mixer) until the fudge is creamy and thick and has lost its gloss. Pour into a greased 20 cm cake pan. Score the top and break into pieces when cold.

I have entered this recipe in to the first Sweet New Zealand for 2012! This month is hosted by Arfi.

13 thoughts on “Russian Fudge

  1. So, is crumbly fudge good fudge or bad fudge? I grew up on crumbly fudge and I love it that way but whenever you buy fudge it’s always more….fudgy. I should try and make it one day.

  2. I still can see these sweets at A&P show last year! Surely, there’ll be more being sold at the same show this year as well! Thanks for your submission for Sweet NZ January, Bridget!

    All the best,
    ab

Leave a Reply

