New Zealand Lolly Log Cake


Lolly cake or lolly log (as some might know it) in New Zealand is a national institution. It is such a kiwi favourite.

It is found absolutely everywhere here and I would go as far as saying it even makes the  list of my favourite sweet treats. This is the type of food item you’d probably expect to see in every New Zealand bakery, corner dairy, or even your local service station, nationwide. I almost think it is unique to New Zealand as  I have yet to find any reference to its existence that can’t be traced back to a New Zealander’s blog.

It is an uncooked recipe and uses two main ingredients: biscuits and lollies – what could be better?! The mixture is usually pressed into a log shape and rolled in coconut, and then refrigerated until set and sliced up. Sadly I can’t credit anything more than the back of a packet of Pascall Fruit Puff’s for this delightful recipe. Enjoy!

New Zealand Lolly Log Cake
Makes 15 slices

  • 1 packet malt biscuits, crumbs
  • 1 packet fruit puffs or eskimos
  • 100 grams butter
  • 1/2 can condensed milk
  • Coconut

Warm the butter and the condensed milk in the microwave.  Add the biscuit crumbs and either a packet of eskimos or fruit puffs (cut into pieces).  Stir mixture well.  Form the mixture into a log shape or into small balls.  Roll in Coconut.  Put into the fridge for approximately 4 hours.  Once set, cut the log into slices and serve.

12 thoughts on “New Zealand Lolly Log Cake

  1. Kielz

    There is a licorice cafe just out of Taupo that makes a slice that I think is this made with wine biscuits and licorice allsorts instead. They make it as a flat slice and topped with melted white chocolate. Omg have gained a kilo just thinking about it!

    1. Ah! Yes, I know that cafe. I have spent many a holiday in Turangi as my Uncle used live in Motuoapa, which I believe is just a stone’s throw away from the place you’re talking about! Sounds delicious.

  2. Raewyn

    My youngest son and his fiance lived with us for 2 months recently before they moved to England for 4yrs. They were allowed to choose all their favourite meals and baking to have before they left – and in particular things they knew they wouldn’t be able to have over there. Consequently this log was produced every week for them to devour. My kids have been making it for 27 years. Has always been a favourite. My eldest lives in USA and has tried several times to reproduce it but the ingreds just aren’t the same.

    Sadly I won’t be making it anymore with no children living here anymore – if I did it would be ME eating the whole lot……………..

  3. I don’t think I knew this was a typical Kiwi treat. I am totally going to look out for fruit puffs and similar substitute biscuits available here (Arctic Canada) and make it for work friends. In fact I might focus on making NZ treats to introduce the locals to NZ baking! Your blog will definitely come in handy for that!

  4. Oh my gosh I love Lolly Cake! Thanks for posting the recipe! I think the only place I’ve ever seen it is on the back of the pack haha! Lolly cake is right up there with fairy bread in my books…now I need to eat both! What have you done?! 😉

  5. Jill Broom

    Just made this for my grandsons 7th birthday as requested by his mother. This has been a favorite in our house for many years. Always making an appearance at family celebrations so easy to make

Leave a Reply

