Lemon Biscuit Slice


Right now, I should be packing for my trip, but I felt like sharing this recipe with you instead.

I know I’ve blogged a lot about slices on After Taste in the past so I really don’t need to go into just how much I appreciate a good piece of old-fashioned slice.

But while slices are simple in theory, countless cafes and bakeries just can’t seem to nail it. The base is often terribly crumbly, or dry and the all-important icing-to-base ratio is often out. So your best bet for a tasty wee morsel is generally one you just make, yourself, at home.

From memory this uncooked lemon biscuit slice is a total crowd pleaser. It is quite moist, with a coconutty base and a soft, sweet lemon icing. It is really simple to make and requires absolutely no baking!

Tell me, what is your favourite slice recipe?

Lemon Biscuit Slice
Makes 24 pieces

Base:

  • 250 grams wine biscuits
  • 1 cup desiccated coconut
  • Finely grated zest of 1-2 lemons
  • 120 grams butter
  • 1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk

Lemon icing:

  • 2 cups icing sugar, sifted
  • 40g butter, melted
  • Juice of 1 lemon

Grease and line a 17 x 27cm slice tin with baking paper, leaving an overhang on all sides. Place biscuits in a food processor and process to form fine crumbs.

Transfer the mixture to a bowl, then combine with coconut and lemon rind. Place butter in a small saucepan over medium heat to melt. Stir in condensed milk. Pour melted mixture over the dry ingredients. Stir to combine well.

Press biscuit mixture into prepared tin. Refrigerate for one hour or until firm. When set, ice with lemon icing. To make lemon icing, place the icing sugar in a bowl. Add melted butter and lemon juice and beat until smooth.

14 thoughts on “Lemon Biscuit Slice

  1. Yum, I used to make something like this at a cafe I worked at once… so delicious. Can’t go wrong with lemon and condensed milk. I agree about cafes making an average job of slices (other than when I was baking in one, obviously ha ha). And why do they cut them in such enormous pieces?

  2. Pingback: Friday’s Favourite Five | Time for a Little Something

  3. Have made and posted this recipe too – so delicious and refreshing! Its funny – I’ve always replaced graham crackers with wine biscuits. Now I am living in Canada there are only graham crackers, and all I really want are wine biscuits!

Leave a Reply

