Ginger Slice


Ginger slice or crunch is such an old-fashioned New Zealand treat. I find it almost comforting. I grew up with it and it always filled an empty tin at home. Ginger slice was one of those things that my mother made a lot of when I was little.

The taste and smell of ginger was never a favourite of mine when I was younger – especially the crystalised kind! I have since dicovered it’s wonder and these days tend to enjoy that extra kick that ginger provides.

Ginger slice can vary considerably – a hard crispy base or a more of a softer, thicker one. I am more familiar with the softer base from Mum’s recipe, although this recipe actually came from Sanitariam. No matter the recipe, ginger slice is always best with lots of thick gooey icing.

I have decided to change this recipe a wee bit and make it that *little* bit healthier and slightly more chewy. Like my Muesli Slice recipe I added a bunch of leftover cereal packets to the base. I love the flavours that come through with the ginger. Apricots, berries…sometimes other.

I made this slice a lot in December as it is perfect for all the end-of-year morning teas and Christmas celebrations that go on at work and elsewhere. If someone in your family loves ginger, they would definitely love this slice. I’ve seen some recipes that include crystalised ginger in either the base or as a decoration on top of the icing – an idea if you want to make the slice a little spicier.

Ginger Slice

For the base:

  • 100 grams margarine
  • 2 tablespoons golden syrup
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ¾ cup coconut
  • 1 ½ cups crushed Sanitarium Weet-Bix (or any leftover cereal)
  • ¾ cup white plain flour
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 ½ teaspoons powdered ginger

 For the icing:

  • 2 tablespoons margarine
  • 4 teaspoons golden syrup
  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • 1-2 tablespoons ginger
Preheat oven to 180°C. In a large saucepan melt margarine, golden syrup and sugar together. Add remaining ingredients, blending well.
 
Press into a greased 20cm x 30cm slice pan and bake for 15-20 minutes. While hot, mark into squares. Then ice once cool, with hot icing.
 
For the icing, place margarine and golden syrup into saucepan and melt. Blend in icing sugar and ginger, and pour over base, while still warm.
 
Such a simple recipe, but very delicious.

15 thoughts on “Ginger Slice

  1. Pingback: Louise Cake | After Taste

  2. Lindy Gregg

    Could you post your Mother’s recipe for the shortcake base for the ginger slice- I have been hunting for that sort of base- my husband doesn’t like coconut so I’d prefer to make the base without the additives you have put in. Anyway it looks delish- especially the topping! Thanks

    1. Hi Lindy, thanks for visiting my blog. I have sourced the shortcake version for you.

      Base:
      125 grams butter, softened
      1/2 cup sugar
      1 1/2 cups plain flour
      1 tsp baking powder
      1 tsp ground ginger

      Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Sift the flour, baking powder and ginger together. Mix into the creamed mixture. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured board. Knead well. Press dough into a greased tin. Bake at 190 degrees for 20 – 25 minutes or until light brown.

      Hope that helps 🙂

      1. Lindy Gregg

        Hi, thank you so much – funnily enough your recipe is almost identical to the Food In a Minute base I tried today and turned out VERY hard and crunchy – but the one difference is that the FIM recipe had an extra cup of icing sugar PLUS the 1/2 cup of sugar in your recipe. I can’t wait to try your one out now. My husband and his identical twin said their Mother made ginger crunch for them all the time when they were kids. Isn’t it great how these old recipes re-surface generation after generation. I’ll let you know how I get on. : – )

      2. I think it is just great how many blogs there are around of people sharing recipes from their childhood, and sometimes even from recipe books that belonged to their grandmother, or great-grandmother! I also love reading the stories and memories that surround such recipes 🙂

  3. Pat

    Hi, just a question… Is there ginger in the base as well as icing? Instructions suggest it is in icing but not listed in icing ingredients…

Leave a comment