Rhubarb and Apple Crumble


Fruit crumble is such a comfort food and what a fantastic dessert to eat on a cold, Wellington night. To be honest I didn’t think I’d be reaching for those ‘cold night’ recipes this early in the year, let alone March! Crikey. Although I’m not too fond of the on-going southelies it definitely gives me an excuse to eat things liiiiike….crumble!

Last year was the first time Wellington got snow in 30 years! Lets hope 2012 isn’t a repeat. Enjoy this toasty treat with some vanilla ice cream and some delicious custard.

Rhubarb and Apple Crumble

  • 3 cooking apples, peeled, quartered and cored
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 10 sticks rhubarb
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated orange rind
  • 100g butter, chopped
  • ½ cup self raising flour
  • ½ cup lightly packed brown sugar
  • ¼ cup dessicated coconut
  • ½ cup rolled oats

Preheat oven to 180 C. Cut apples into thick slices and place in a saucepan with water. Simmer for 10 minutes. Meanwhile wash rhubarb and chop into 5 cm lengths. Add rhubarb, sugar and orange rind to apple, return to the boil and simmer for 3 minutes. Pour mixture into a shallow oven proof dish.

Make the crumble by rubbing the butter into the flour, mix in brown sugar, coconut and rolled oats. Sprinkle crumble evenly over the apple and rhubarb and bake for 30 minutes.
Serve with icecream, cream or custard.

I’ve chosen to enter this recipe into Sweet New Zealand for March hosted by Emma at My Darling Lemon Thyme! Go and check out some delicious entries.


8 thoughts on “Rhubarb and Apple Crumble

    1. It was so delicious. Probably the best crumble I’ve ever made. The topping was amazing! It is certainly getting a lot colder at night which of course, you know, only calls for MORE crumble!

  1. Oh this makes me miss my cranking Rhubarb plant back home in NZ! I LOVE crumble, it must be a kiwi thing though, cause my Aussie husband can’t stand the stuff?! Or maybe it’s just him 😉
    Thanks heaps for your entry to Sweet NZ xx

Leave a comment