Caramel Oat Cake


I often make this cake (err, slice?) and I have wanted to add it to the blog for a good while. Do you know what the funny thing is? I always forget to take a picture before it disappears fairly quickly. Damn.

Well this time I did, so here it is in all it’s glory. This recipe comes from Jo Seagar’s cookbook called The Cook School Recipes. When I first purchased this book, I had every intention of regularly choosing a new recipe and trying it out. But like all my other cookbooks…it took a place on the shelf and I resorted to my laptop and the power of google! Does anyone else do that? I must make more of an effort to make things from an actual recipe book!

The combination of the caramel, rolled oats and wholemeal flour is just so delicious and tastes remarkably healthy! Even though, let’s face it, it’s totally NOT. But hey! We’re all allowed to indulge once in a while! Happy Thursday. Yay, nearly the weekend! Enjoy.

Caramel Oat Cake

  • 1 1/2 cups wholemeal flour
  • 3/4 cup white flour
  • 2 tsps baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 cup desiccated coconut
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 250 grams butter
  • 2 eggs
  • Vanilla

For the caramel:

  • 400ml sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 tbsps golden syrup
  • 150 grams butter

Make the caramel by combining the butter, condensed milk, golden syrup in a small pot over a medium heat. Mix until well combined and make sure the caramel has thickened slightly and turned a golden brown. I put the pot straight into the fridge so it thickened a bit more. It seemed to hold itself together more in the oven rather than oozing into the base.

Mix all the dry ingredients together in a bowl. In a smaller bowl mix melted butter, eggs and vanilla. Stir into dry ingredients. Press 3/4 of the mixture into a slice pan and pour the caramel on top. Crumble the remaining mixture over the top. Bake at 180 degrees for about 40-45 minutes or until golden.

When the slice has cooled, drizzle with chocolate!

I’ve decided to enter this delicious recipe into Sweet New Zealand for March 2014! Check out all the fantastic recipes over at Bake Club at the end of the month!

8yPS8NO

3 thoughts on “Caramel Oat Cake

  1. This cake looks so hearty and delicious! I love cake, coconut, oats, and chocolate, but never thought of putting those ingredients together. (I am half afraid to make this because I suspect I will eat it all!)

  2. Anna

    Hi I have bought all the ingredients and was just about to start making this when I got confused about the caramel – which in the recipe says 150g butter, but in the instructions says just ‘brown sugar’ instead. Can you please enlighten me? Thank you 🙂 Anna

Leave a comment