Quick Tomato Relish


My favourite after school snack as a child was tomato relish and cheese, sometimes on crackers, usually on toast. I have always been quite the fan of relishes and chutneys and these days when I go back home to visit the family, I raid Mum and Dad’s pantry. It is seriously stocked full of chutneys, relishes and sauces – my kind of heaven.

The following is Mum’s recipe which she has been making for as long as I can remember. It’s fantastic as a relish in a burger or just with cheese and crackers. It is also delicious on just about any kind of meat. Tomato relish is pretty much ideal for anything you fancy.

It’s definitely not hard to make and is something that’s always good to have available. Such a brilliant way to use up overripe tomatoes too. Enjoy!

Quick Tomato Relish
Makes about 1.5kg

• 1.5 kg red tomatoes, sliced
• 2 onions, sliced
• 1 tbsp mustard seeds
• 125 ml white wine vinegar
• 150 grams sugar
• 2 tsp wholegrain mustard
• 1 pinch of nutmeg
• 2 tsp cornflour
• salt and pepper
• 2 tbsp cornflour

Bring all the ingredients to the boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for about half an hour. Mix the cornflour with a little water, add to the mixture and stir well until thickened. Decant into sterilised jars.

Homage to the years of after school snacks, endless cartoons, and being home by 3pm!


11 thoughts on “Quick Tomato Relish

  1. What a great idea, I love relish and make it every year out here in the boonies! This is a perfect quick recipe for when I want it RIGHT NOW without all the fuss. I also eat it with cheese on toast.. HMM.. c

Leave a comment