Currant Loaf


Feels like I have been on a baking hiatus, of sorts, lately. To be honest, there hasn’t actually been a hell of a lot of baking passing through my kitchen. Sometimes I think we are all just in need of a little break from life, from things routine, and to be honest, it’s been kind of nice!

Now this loaf recipe is an oldie but a goodie. There isn’t a hell of a lot you can say about it but it is definitely worth posting on the blog anyway. It really reminds me of the days of the old school yard. Why? Because back in the day, there, nestled between the sandwich and the fruit in my lunchbox, was always a piece of my Mum’s homemade loaf. Delicious!

It is also worth mentioning that it was around this time last year, my blog After Taste came to light and will be celebrating its 1st birthday (oh god, starting to sound like a proud parent) later on in September! Pretty exciting for me….I don’t usually stick to something, voluntarily, for that long! I get bored quickly, and frequently move on to bigger, or better things! I’m sure most of you can relate.

Enjoy the recipe!

Currant Loaf

  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 cups currants
  • 115 grams butter
  • 4 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp spice
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ginger

Bring the water, sugar, currants and butter to the boil in large saucepan. Take off the stove and sift into the boiled mixture, flour, baking soda, mixed spice, cinnamon, and ginger.

Pour the mixture into 2 medium-sized loaf tins. Bake for 180 degrees for 1-1 1/2 hours.

Leave to cool slightly before slicing up and serving with a generous spread of margerine or butter! This loaf is great as it freezes well too.

6 thoughts on “Currant Loaf

Leave a comment