Chorizo and Prawn Paella


Well, hello! It’s been a while.

I’ve always wanted to make paella at home. This is one dish I always look for at markets and food-type fairs and it never lets me down – the big large pots they cook it in just look so inviting don’t they and with so much seafood! So GOOD! Most recently I was lucky enough to taste a couple of different paella’s while I was overseas, like this one at the Notting Hill market in London:

And at one stage, I watched a guy at another market making it from scratch. It looked too easy so that was my challenge.

There are a million and one recipes out there for paella and it is easy to spend a lot on all the little bits and pieces (extras, I call them). Me? I wanted a recipe that was easy to throw together, and most of all takes next to no time for an after work meal.

The following recipe I actually discovered in the Countdown app and I really rate it for a first timer! Next time round, I might get a little bit more creative and choose a few variaties of seafood (a weekend affair I believe). I might even purchase some saffron, if I’m feeling a little bit richer!). Saffron is wildly expensive but from what I’ve read, it really does add quite a unique and wonderful flavour to the dish.

For now, I’m happy with this recipe…enjoy!

Chorizo and Prawn Paella

  • 1-2 tbsp oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • salt & peper
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 chorizo sausages, sliced
  • 200 grams boneless chicken, chopped
  • 20 prawns
  • 2 cups short grain rice
  • 400 gram can of chopped tomatoes

Pour 1-2 tbsp of oil in the bottom of a large frying pan.

Put the onion and pepper in the pan, then place on element and bring to a moderate heat. Cook for about 5 minutes to soften slightly.

Add 1/2 tsp salt, paprika, and the oregano, stir and then add the chorizo sausage and the chicken to the pan. Cook briefly, stirring.

Add the rice, and fry for another 5 minutes, stirring continueously so it doesn’t have a chance to stick! Add the tin of chopped tomatoes to the pan, then fill the empty tin twice with water and pour the water into the pan.

Once the liquid has come to the boil, reduce the heat to a low simmer and cover. After about 10 minutes, remove the lid, stir the paella then place the lid back on for another 5 minutes.

Next add the prawns. Stir in the prawns, over and continue to cook over a very low heat for another 5 minutes. Turn off the element and leave covered to stand for 15 minutes.

Serve with a slice of lemon, and a side salad. Delicious!

4 thoughts on “Chorizo and Prawn Paella

    1. Yay! I am so glad you got the chance to try the recipe and thank you for the feedback. I thought it was wonderful because it was simple to make. What other seafood did you end up using? Delicious.

Leave a comment