Gooey Salted Caramel Slice


I first tried salted caramel in the form of fudge at a popular London market last year. Best. Decision. Ever. It was absolutely mind-blowingly delicious! I’m pretty sure I ate my fair share of fudge that day. I definitely remember the sore tummy afterwards.

Recently I found this slice recipe in the Bite section of The Herald newspaper a couple of weeks back and I thought, why not! It was really just too good not to share with you lovely folk!

After I got this fix, I was on the hunt for more salted caramel and came across a recipe for  ice cream so watch this space!

Enjoy. Have a great weekend everybody!

photo

Gooey Salted Caramel Slice

  • 250 grams butter, softened
  • 100 grams sugar
  • 100 grams cornflour
  • 50 grams icing sugar
  • 350 grams flour
  • 50 grams walnuts, chopped

Caramel

  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 tablespoons golden syrup
  • 150 grams butter
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons salt

Heat oven to 170 degrees and line a 20 x 30 slice tin with non-stick baking paper.
Cream butter and sugar, add cornflour, icing sugar and flour. Mix together until it forms a ball. Divide the mixture in half, use one half to press it into the tin and place the other half in the fridge.

Bake for 20 minutes until just starting to colour. Remove from the oven and cool.

Make the caramel by melting the butter, golden syrup and condensed milk in a pot until well blended. Make sure you keep stirring to avoid burning. Take off the element and cool – I placed the pot in the fridge for about 20 minutes to speed up the process.

Spread the caramel evenly over the cooled base. Sprinkle over the walnuts. Dice up the remaining dough and sprinkle evenly over the top. Return to the oven and bake for a further 20 minutes.

When cool, slice into squares and store in a biscuit tin. If it lasts that long. Let’s be honest.

13

11 thoughts on “Gooey Salted Caramel Slice

    1. Me too, actually. I keep thinking my blog needs a bit of a spruce up but I never get round to changing that darn header image..I don’t think I will now 🙂 Thanks for visiting.

  1. Pingback: Sweet New Zealand: By After Taste | After Taste

Leave a comment